Travel Pretty: Makeup

There are some people who don’t wear makeup when they travel. I cannot say that I am one of those people. Personally, I need a little something on my face before I go out and about in the world. However, I will not carry around my entire makeup collection with me. Here are a few tips on how to travel light and pretty.

1.) Face makeup:

Start with a moisturizer, preferably one that has SPF in it. You don’t want to burn yourself. Then, if you have an uneven skin tone, or want to cover up any blemishes or dark spots, I’d recommend using a concealer and foundation to even everything out. I use Smashbox Camera Ready Concealer ($20.00) in 4.0 and Christopher Drummond Veludo Velvet Foundation (&65.00) in Momo/Warm. The foundation is perfect for travelling because it is powder-based! That means you don’t have to put it in the clear, plastic baggy at the security checkpoint. Not only does it provide full-coverage, but convenience too!

2.) Cheeks:

Some color on your cheeks is never a bad idea. You don’t want to look ghoulish or sickly. I use Smashbox Blush Rush ($24.00) in Heartbreak, a warm pinky-red. Use the same small brush you used with the foundation.

3.) Eyes:

To brighten your eyes a little bit, just add some mascara. I use L’Oreal Paris Voluminous Original ($7.29). You can find this mascara almost anywhere. I buy mine at CVS or Wegmans right at the register. This is also the only product that you will have to put in the baggy at security.

4.) Lips: Unless you are going for a certain look, just go with a sheer lip balm. I use Dr. Hauschka Lip Care Stick ($13.00) because it is all natural and I don’t have to reapply it all the time.

5.) Bonus!:

Ok, so I have found this powder that does amazing things to my face. It is the Christopher Drummond Saude Pele ($85.00) or Radiance Booster. Saude Pele is Portugese for Healthy Skin, and it’s true! After I put on this powder, my entire face glows. Generally, I apply it along my cheek bones and then around my eyes. And it doesn’t take a lot. The tiniest dusting makes the biggest difference. It is pretty expensive, but I highly recommend this product.

Use these products, or products like them, and you will look natural and pretty. You don’t want to look too overdone while travelling, unless you are going to a very specific event.

So, in order to make sure your makeup bag doesn’t look like this:

 

follow these few, simple steps to travel light and pretty with convenience.

Check out some of the product sites for more information on the products I use and many others:

Smashbox Cosmetics

Christopher Drummond Beauty

Dr. Hauschka Skin Care

L’Oreal Paris

And, an easy way to get the majority of these products is through Jackson & Hines, a small boutique in Rochester, NY where I work part-time.

Some of the products I listed are carried exclusively at J&H for the region. Check them out!

Happy Travels!

